Smoked Bacon Brownies

Bacon-Brownies

Over Memorial Day weekend I decided to try something new and smoke bacon brownies in my smoker using apple wood. The process was simple. I started by preheating my oven to 400 degrees. I lined a baking sheet with tin foil and laid out 8 pieces of thick cut applewood smoked bacon on the sheet. I placed the sheet in the oven and cooked the bacon for 16 minutes.

Once the bacon was cooked I transferred it to a baking sheet with a cooling rack placed over it to allow the grease to drip off. I patted the excess grease off with a paper towel.

Next I set my smoker to 350 degrees, soak my applewood chips and began to mix ingredients to make my brownie batter.

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter cut to tablespoon size portions
  • 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup of dark brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 large eggs and 1 egg yoke
  • 1 teaspoon of Vanilla Extract
  • 1 teaspoon of sea salt
  • 1 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

You’ll want to place the butter and 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips in a bowl and microwave on high for 15 seconds. Remove, stir and place back into the microwave in 15 second increments until the butter and chocolate chips are completely melted and blended together. Crumble your slices of bacon into a small bowl.

You’ll then add all the rest of the ingredients and your crumbled bacon and mix well until you get a batter that is thick. Grease a 9×9 pan with vegetable oil and pour your brownie batter into the pan distributing it evenly.

Place it in the smoker and cook for 25 to 30 minutes or until completely done in the center. You can insert a toothpick into the center of the pan and if it comes out clean the brownies are done.

Take the brownies out of the oven and let cool for 25 to 30 minutes. Cut an serve with vanilla ice cream.

Do you have a dish you would like to have featured? Contact me. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a comment